

THE ELIZABETH TURNER MEDAL

The Elizabeth Turner Medal is named to honour the memory of Dr Elizabeth K Turner MBBS, MD, FRACP, LLD (Hons), a respected paediatrician of the Hospital from 1942 to c.1980. Elizabeth Turner graduated with MBBS in 1940 and received her MD in 1948. She was the first doctor in Australia to administer penicillin, and the first female Medical Superintendent of the (Royal) Children's Hospital (1944-46). Elizabeth Turner's devotion to the care of her patients exemplifies the qualities recognised in a recipient of the medal.

Purpose

To acknowledge excellence in clinical care provided by a member of the senior medical/dental staff of the RCH over an extended period of time. This medal is awarded primarily on the basis of the individual's contribution to the clinical care of their patients and is in essence, our highest form of peer recognition for exceptional clinical care.

Selection criteria

- Excellence of clinical care
- Length of service
- Current member of senior medical or dental staff at RCH

Nomination - written nominations from members of the RCH MSA submitted to the MSA Secretary (– the MSA Secretary will call for nominations two months before the end of year MSA dinner **Selection committee** MSA Executive

Selection committee - MSA Executive

Frequency - ordinarily annual, although the medal need not be awarded

Presentation - medal and certificate to be presented at the annual end of year MSA dinner **Funding** - MSA subscriptions

Previous Elizabeth Turner Medal Recipients

- 2002 Arnold Smith, Gastroenterology
- 2003 Lloyd Shield, Neurology
- 2004 Tony Holmes, Plastic surgery
- 2005 Elizabeth Rose, ENT
- 2006 Peter Loughnan, Neonatology
- 2007 Keith Waters, Oncology
- 2008 Barbara Main, Anaesthetics
- 2009 Margaret Zacharin, Endocrinology
- 2010 Karin Tiedemann, CCC
- 2011 Jim Wilkinson, Cardiology
- 2012 Roger Allen, Rheumatology
- 2013 Hugo Gold, General Medicine
- 2014 Valerie Mayne, Medical Imaging
- 2015 Margaret Rowell, Developmental Medicine
- 2016 Lionel Lubitz, General Medicine
- 2017 Russell Taylor, General Surgery
- 2018 Rob Henning, Intensive Care